I just don’t have enough middle fingers for today.

Some days are great, better than you could have ever expected. Some days are good, and others are simply okay. But then there are those days, the days that feel as though you’re doomed from the moment you roll out of bed in the morning. What next…

I am the sort of person who dwells, and more than often let things drag me down which results in one bad day turning into a series of many bad days. I recently went through a phase like this, and days were just merging together. I soon realised I needed get a grip, so I followed five steps to help me to the other side. I’d like to share those steps.

  1. Take a step back.

By taking a step back, you are giving yourself the opportunity to be removed from a bad situation and any negativity surrounding you. More often than not, I used to direct the blame at someone else for my bad days but I have come to realise that I cannot change other people, so I needed to decide what I could do to help put an end to my cycle of bad days.

  1. Have some ‘me’ time.

This is an opportunity for you get involved with an activity you enjoy, whether that be sweating it out at the gym or becoming engrossed in a good book, to allow yourself to escape from the negativity for a short while. For me, it would be the latter in a bubble-bath. The purpose of this is to give yourself a clear head, and gain a positive outlook before the next step: identifying the issue.

  1. Identify the issue. 

It may be a single event that has resulted in your bad day, so you’re likely to be certain you know what your problem is. Great! You now just need to figure out how to deal with it. Sometimes, however, there is an underlying issue which results in a domino effect into other parts of your life, thus a series of bad days. It is important to discover the root as this can be dealt with directly, and chances are any other issues will dissolve into nothing.

  1. Decide on a plan. 

People deal with situations in their own way; therefore how you best decide to deal with the issue may be different to someone else. Additionally, the identified issue may also have an impact on how you decide to approach it.

If you are unsure of the course of action to take, then speak to someone and get some advice. This is what I did; originally I was determined to confront the individual that I had an issue with as I thought this was the best option. After speaking with a friend, everything was put into perspective and I realised that this time things were better left unsaid.

Alternatively, make a list of the pros and cons relating to each of the different approaches when deciding on how to handle the situation, and that way you can figure out what best suits you and the issue you are dealing with at that moment in time.

  1. Put the plan into action.

If, like me, you decide to let bygones be bygones it is time to forget about the negativity and look forward as after all, tomorrow is new day. However, if you decide to confront the issue do it in a mature manner – decide where would be an appropriate location, know what you want to say, listen, but above all stay calm and keep positive. Hopefully, from here on out you have many great days!

Don’t forget that throughout all of this process, you don’t have to go through it alone, speak to someone you trust. It is much better than keeping it all bottled up.

If anyone has any anymore advice they would like share, or has any questions, please feel free to leave them in the comments. Let’s all help each other :-).

Disclaimer: I do not claim to be a therapist or even trained to give this kind of advice. I am purely sharing my experiences to hopefully help someone else having a bad day or surrounded by negativity. Photo: http://ssiwellness.com/whats-new/

6 thoughts on “I just don’t have enough middle fingers for today.

      • lilypup says:

        I can tell you what I do: 2 fresh posts per week, one re-blog of something I found interesting while I was surfing blogs, and one blog from my archives. So they get 4 posts per week. I have this schedule posted as a widget. If you like, take a look at the side of my blog and you can see how I did it. Just an idea. 🙂

      • ToniJackson says:

        I will be sure to check it out! I need to sit down properly one day and look at the widget options to see what they are all about because I have heard someone else mention them. That’s a good idea though, especially the reblogging of other posts you enjoy :-).

Leave a Reply

