Let’s Talk: 12 Months On.

It has been just shy of twelve months since I graduated from university, so I thought now was a good time to sit down and update you as to where I am and what I am currently doing.

I currently work in media, as the Deputy Editor of a community magazine – complete career shift from what I studied at university – but my degree was varied with content that when I left university I did not know what route I wanted to take within Forensic Science. Having the opportunity to explore a different line of work has been both rewarding and challenging, but above all it has helped me to realise the pathway I would like to pursue within Forensic Science.

I am now currently in the process of researching different universities and the different postgraduate Drugs & Toxicology courses they offer so I can make an informed decision to what would best suit me, ready to start next September.

Paderborn

I live in the beautiful City of Paderborn, Germany

Many students leave university knowing what their next steps are, others like me don’t. However, I did always know that I needed a break from education and Forensic Science so I moved back home with my parents and applied for work. My original employment was as an administrative clerk; it was only maternity cover but it was work nevertheless. This was an opportunity to start earning whilst I searched for something more permanent.

I also took on a part-time role as a youth worker, to keep me busy and earn a little more extra dollar. In addition to figuring out my next steps, I moved back home to save money because the cost of living is much lower. I am already in enough debt from my first three years at university, so I want to avoid having to borrow money to undertake a postgraduate. But making that commitment to a second job means in addition to saving, I have the disposable income to enjoy the finer things in life. I plan to stay exactly where I am until September 2016, when I will be relocating from Germany back to the UK regardless of whether I have a place at university, because my dad will be leaving the British Army in May 2017 – his time will be up. I want to be settled before my parents make the move.

Phantasialand-1

Budapest

I take the opportunity to travel whilst living in Europe

Anyway, the purpose of this post was not to discuss what I am able or unable to afford but just to demonstrate that all our paths are going to be different. It is important that the decisions you make are going to positively impact and benefit you. It is not just about the destination, but also the journey.

7 thoughts on “Let’s Talk: 12 Months On.

  1. ibeautytalk says:

    This was so helpful! I’m in my final year of university (science degree too) and have no idea what to do with my life. I think I’m just going to take it one small step at a time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

