Fitness Update.

At the beginning of the year, I published a post titled ‘New Year, New Me’ where I discussed my high blood pressure diagnosis and the incentive this gave me to lead a healthier lifestyle through exercise and my diet.

Throughout the whole of school and university I was active through the hockey and netball team, and later kickboxing. I don’t really know at what point my enthusiasm dwindled because I have always enjoyed working out, as well as using it as an escape from day-to-day life. I am, however, pleased to say that the changes I wanted have been implemented, and that enthusiasm has returned, for the most part.

imageBoxing is one of my favourite ways to work out, as it not only for building upper body strength but it is a great way to let off steam

If am to be honest, I seem to manage a few weeks where I show complete commitment to a fitness programme before indulging one week and then struggling to get back into the swing of it. I was going to the gym three times a week, attending a military style boot camp twice a week and yoga once a week. I have recently decided to give the Kayla Itsines Bikini Body Guide (BBG) a go to give my workouts more structure and keeping me on track.

imageThe small changes are what matter the most because there will always be room for improvement. Baby abs in tow.

imageI think glute and leg workouts are the easiest because I can do squats, lunges and donkey kicks in the comfort of my own home.

There is obviously still a long journey ahead but I am feeling much healthier, both mentally and physically, and it has been great to see the small changes to my body especially when I am consistent. My main goal was to strengthen my heart through cardio training, which I have worked towards. I now want to incorporate more resistance and weight training to tone up.

image

I understand this a rather generic update to my fitness, but I hope that I will have more of a presence on my blog and will provide detailed weekly updates, including photos of my workouts and meals.

4 thoughts on “Fitness Update.

  1. KuminKueche says:

    I found your little space in the community pool, so glad I did!! amazing write up!!!keep writing and inspire us…. surely will be waiting for more!!
    Please do visit my blog for vegan recipes, I’ve recently started my blog, and would love some feedback, thanks in advance and see you there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

