Difficult Roads Often Lead To Beautiful Destinations.

The saying goes, “as one door closes, another door opens.” More often than not, we are blind to the door that is opening because we are so focussed on the door that has closed. Negativity seems to be an emotion that comes much more naturally than positivity.

2016 was a challenging year for me, personally. I made the decision to walk away from various people who had been a significant part of my life over the years. Those decisions were not made lightly; I spent many hours swaying to and fro, once I had taken that step there was no turning back. However, I have never once doubted any of my decisions. The reason being…

They had simply run their course. We are forever changing and growing, with those around us having a much larger impact than what we sometimes realise. With this in mind, I believe those people had taught me everything that they could and the chemistry that once was, was no longer. Selfish? Yes. Completely. But I want the relationships in my life to continuously excite me and challenge me as an individual, and I was simply going through the motions.

Now? I feel free.

I have since met many new people; people who do excite and challenge me, and have opened my eyes and pushed me to experience things I had only ever imagined. Since stepping out of my comfort zone, I have become a better me; more confident, headstrong and aware of what I want.

The point I am wanting to share here is to see the positive in any situation. Sometimes we have control, at other times we don’t but the clock won’t stop ticking either way. The bad situations have to happen for us to appreciate the good and become the people we want to be.

Happy New Year.

2 thoughts on “Difficult Roads Often Lead To Beautiful Destinations.

  1. KuminKueche says:

    I like your perspective about taking on challenges; it is tough to see leaving friends as an opportunity for something better when it’s easier to stay put and avoid the risk.

Leave a Reply

